The fourth Hunter Complex album, Dead Calm and Zero Degrees, is out 20 March 2020 on Burning Witches Records.

Hunter Complex is the moniker of Lars Meijer, a well-known figure in the Dutch underground and co-owner of the Narrominded label. In the late 1990s, Meijer began releasing music under the name, Larz. His early releases are best described as lo-fi pop. In 2000 Meijer started the ‘improvisational electro-acoustic band’, Psychon Troopers (later known as Psychon) with Jantijn Prins and Coen Oscar Polack. To date, Psychon have released six albums steadily abandoning improvisation in favour of composed music. Meijer also formed the electronic music duo Living Ornaments with Polack in 2001. Over the previous decade, Meijer found the time to record numerous acts under the pseudonym Biff Eighties . These include: Boutros Bubba, Makazoruki, Pfaff, Gone Bald, De Reizende Verkoper and Morbide Eenheid. He has also contributed a track, Desert, to the Enfant Terrible label. In 2016 Meijer has added remixing to his skillset, with the Amsterdam pop band Apneu being his first victims. Meijer started working as Hunter Complex in 2008.

Dead Calm and Zero Degrees is the fourth Hunter Complex to date and the twin record to Open Sea, released by the prestigious Death Waltz label in January 2019. Open Sea was the follow-up to the stand-alone single 2015’s Limelight, and the LP Heat, released in September 2013. Heat was very well received by the international press. MOJO Magazine praised the ‘techno-pop and movie score dramatics’, Norman Records rated the album 9 out of 10 and the Quietus praised ‘the strong positivism that leaks from the melodic and warm synths’. ‘Heat contained two singles, Space (2013) and Hours (2014), which boasted remixes by The No and Drvg Cvltvre. The self-titled debut album by Hunter Complex came out in February 2010. The music on that album was again influenced by synthpop and new wave bands from the 1980s. The debut album was preceded by an EP, Here Is the Night, and, amongst other things, a track on the LP, Retro Retry 2: Another Another Green World (an intriguing remake of Brian Eno’s landmark LP, Another Green World).

Dead Calm and Zero Degrees is released by Burning Witches Records, an UK-based record label specialising in forward-thinking electronic and heavy synth music. Born from a love of horror films and electronic music, Burning Witches presents artists that are pushing the boundaries of electronic music and music as a whole package. From opening track to album art to vinyl and cassette colour variants, Burning Witches Records makes every release count.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.